Spring 2011 RTW: 3.1 Phillip Lim

16 Dec

This was a beautiful show although all the looks were very similar. The colors were very neutral, a few pastel colored dresses. I loved the pieces though and the complexity of the simple pieces put together. For example, in the bottom left image the cardigan, button down and bag that are all variations of the same tone shouldn’t have worked but it looks beautiful. Whether or not this will set the tone for the season isn’t clear yet– the emphasis on neutrals and flat, calm colors would be an interesting turn from the bright colors, animal patterns and sequins and embellishing.

For a celebrity example of this, check out my other blog here

3 Responses to “Spring 2011 RTW: 3.1 Phillip Lim”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Resort 2012: Donna Karan « Trends & Treats - June 8, 2011

    […] she found new terrain. The sheer pieces that were lined on tulle were gorgeous and remind me of the Spring 3.1 collection with certain pieces made of a really similar material. A really beautiful and strong collection, […]

  2. Spring/Summer 2012: The Row « Trends & Treats - September 10, 2011

    […] I have ever seen. When the pieces move from very casual into more designer pieces I get a bit of a Philip Lim, Spring 2011 vibe — although since that is one of my favorite shows ever, I am not surprised. It’s […]

  3. Spring 2012: The Row « RunwayRundown - November 7, 2011

    […] I have ever seen. When the pieces move from very casual into more designer pieces I get a bit of a Philip Lim, Spring 2011 vibe — although since that is one of my favorite shows ever, I am not surprised. It’s the way […]

Leave a Reply

