Spring 2011 RTW: Balenciaga

5 Jan

I’m going to be honest, I was not a huge fan of this show. I love designer Nicholas Ghesquière’s mixing of women from off of the street with high-class models in the runway, yet the looks they wore did nothing for me. Ghesquière broke the show into three categories: leather, dresses and tailoring. In look 1, I do like the individual pieces but in the rest I just did not see the appeal. The dresses (which I didn’t even include in this) had a really intriguing pattern yet did nothing for the woman wearing them. The idea of individuality and identity was behind Ghesquière’s vision but it did not really come across unless every woman’s identity is very masculine and rough.

Leave a Reply

