Fall 2011 RTW: BCBG Max Azria

10 Feb

While there is no disagreeing that for the past few seasons, minimalism has been a key aspect of the Azria collection, this collection seemed different to me. While many critics seem to believe that this is on point for BCBG I think that it’s a completely new type of collection. Rather than the fun flirty dresses that are usually the focus of the show, the theme is more heavy coats and draped sheer dresses. Everything is boxy which is completely in style but there is less femininity than I usually accompany with BCBG in my mind. That said, I loved this collection and thought it was a great kick-off to fall fashion week. There was a consistency of the lighter, sheerer fabrics being contrasted against the darker ones — although sometimes this manifested in the white turtle-necks under the dresses. My favorite in the collection is the last look: the black tunic with red stripe at the bottom over a white turtle-neck and sheer black pants. I think it is a look that I have never seen before and one that I find very interesting and innovative.

Credit: style.com

You may also like:

BCBG Max Azria Spring 2011 Runway Review

Hervé Léger by Max Azria Spring 2011 Runway Review


Leave a Reply

