Fall 2011 RTW: L’Wren Scott

17 Feb

I loved this collection way more than I expected too. I always associate L’Wren Scott in my mind to very dark colors and slightly more mature cuts and styles. I never expected so much fun from one of her collections. She was inspired by one of my mom’s favorite painters, Gauguin. This was seen in her penchant for bold colors and shapes and cuts that were eccentric in a beautiful way. She’s not a designer for everyone and usually her shows are very one look, not the other for me but this one I thought didn’t miss a beat and I think must have a more wide appeal. There were simple coats and day-outfits that were contrasted with the absolute intensity of the evening wear. She’s done embellishment with sequins on one tone colors for a few seasons — and many celebrities have taken the red carpet in this styles, but these cuts were more appealing to me. So elegant and mature in a very approachable way. I loved the two piece skirt and jacket in the purple cotton weaved color with the belting at the hip in the same material and folded over to get a glimpse of the satin underneath — sexy while being subtle and practical. The black and yellow dress reminded me a bit of the Marchesa Resort 2011 number, without the insane hooped bottom but the colors and design were very similar. All in all a very beautiful, well designed¬†collection.

Credit: WWD.com

You may also like:

Christina Hendricks in L'Wren Scott at the Show's After-Party

Jennifer Lawrence in L'Wren Scott at the Critics Choice Awards

Jennifer Lopez in L'Wren Scott on Regis & Kelly

Leave a Reply

