Spring/Summer 2012: The time has finally come again.

8 Sep

Hey guys! It’s been awhile. It was a wild summer. I’m now at Cornell University, doing Art History left right and center while meeting great new people and enjoying the last few days of nice weather! That said, I’ve obviously been counting down the days until the start of the best month ever. The schedules have been lining my desktop since they were made public (I’ll post them again like last season since you guys liked that so much).

So…today. The shit hit the fan with the beginning of fashion week and I’m not going to lie, I have a few complaints. The schedule for today was pretty slow…

Thursday, September 8, 2011

Time

Show

9:00 AM

Nicholas K

10:00 AM

BCBG Max Azria

11:00 AM

Richard Chai

2:00 PM

Tadashi Shoji

After indulging in my post-show browse through the collection photos, I was a little disappointed. There was a lot of regurgitation from past seasons. I’ll do a BCBG and Tadashi Shoji review later and I can focus my intrigue on the Richard Chai show and a little on Nicholas K. I’ve never been a big Richard Chai fan but I have always really appreciated his work. He grabbed from so many fall collections — prints, ideas and entire themes. While there are not many reviews up yet, there didn’t seem to be any theme throughout.

1. Cuts: I know that it is not exact, but the cut of Rodarte’s fall show was pretty identical to many Richard Chai pieces. The crossover style was all over Chai’s show. I know that Rodarte does not have exclusive rights to this kind of cut but the style completely reminds me of Rodarte. The attitude behind the piece and everything reeks of the ideals of the Mulleavy sisters.

2. Prints: need I say any more? I mean…Obviously a discrepancy with cuts but the prints and idea behind the style is identical. From the orange eye make up to the brunette girl in a strappy, loose wrap dress…I don’t even know how to look for differences.

I have more to post but I have to get to an event… I’ll do more later.

Get ready for fashion week guys…It’s always an amazing time.

Credit: style.com

One Response to “Spring/Summer 2012: The time has finally come again.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SPRING 2012 RTW: BCBG Max Azria | Twisted Sunshine ♥ - September 9, 2011

    […] Spring/Summer 2012: The time has finally come again. (trendsandtreats.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

